It’s been a long ride… and still nowhere near the end

2011 had been a year to forget as far as my health is concern. After the shocker of 2010, I was expecting 2011 to be the year when I finally made a comeback from my cancer-shock. But it was not to be.

Since then, I been experiencing one health hiccup after another. I had a total of 3 major operations, several minor ones and as of now, I am still wearing a stoma bag and my problem in my buttock still a big issue for me.

The more experience I have now with my health issues the better the understanding I am now getting regarding my problem. I believe now that since my first operation until now, I had been having a serious Abscess problem in my rectum region. This problem was never targeted till very much later when I noticed I kept having the feeling of diarrhea when I had a stoma reversal after my 2nd major operation.

In the 3rd operation, when I had the ‘Bowel Obstruction’, Dr. Tay had to create an Ileostomy again. So now I am back on the Stoma bag again. The purpose this time was to give time for the Abscess to self-heal so the colon is blocked to prevent waste material to getting into contact with the abscess and create more problems. I now believe that when I had the inflammation during the 3rd Op, it was deal to the abscess spreading to my intestine.

I had done much research on the web regarding ‘Anorectal Abscess’, and what I had read so far doesn’t sound good. In most reports, it mentioned that Self-healing is hard and in most cases, a major surgery is required to eliminate the abscess. I really hope not for I really cannot bear going in again for another operation.

But I really want this to clear so that I can have the stoma reversal and have my life back again. My stoma discharges are so frequent and it really makes life so difficult for me. I had to be close to a toilet at all times. I cannot wear nice clothes and I cannot expose my body.

There are 3 majors issues still.

1. Getting rid of the abscess in my rectum and not having to feel that I need to go toilet all the time.

2. Having a stoma reversal so that life can be back to normal. Not having to wear stoma base & bag. Most important not needing to be near a toilet all the time and not needing to worry that I expose the bag or the bag leaks like what had happened twice already.

3. Getting rid of the barium that are still residing in my colon.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

